Scientist Dr Saman Habib elected fellow of Indian National Science Academy

By : Swati Sharma |
Dr Saman Habib

Chief Scientist and Professor (AcSIR) in Molecular Biology Division, CSIR-CDRI Lucknow, Dr Saman Habib have brought laurels to the Institute through her outstanding work for understanding the malaria parasite. A multi-disciplinary research laboratory, Central Drug Research Institute’s Scientist, Dr Saman has been elected as a fellow of Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi.

Her research group’s interest in the malaria parasite is driven by the desire to understand (a) the molecular workings and functions of the relict plastid (apicoplast) of Plasmodium, (b) mechanisms of protein translation employed by Plasmodium organelles and (c) human genetic factors and susceptibility to severe P. falciparum malaria in endemic and non-endemic regions of India.

The Indian National Science Academy

Established in January 1935, The Indian National Science Academy was set up to promote science in India and harness scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare. Promotion of scientific knowledge in India including its practical application to problems of national welfare. The major objectives of the Indian National Science Academy are:

  • Coordination among Scientific Academies, Societies, Institutions, Government Scientific Departments and Services.
  • To act as a body of scientists of eminence for the promotion and safeguarding of the interests of scientists in India and to present internationally the scientific work done in the country.
  • To act through properly constituted National Committees, in which other learned academies and societies may be associated, for undertaking scientific work of national and international importance which the Academy may be called upon to perform by the public and by the Government.


Other important honours and awards in Dr Saman Habib credit – CSIR Young Scientist Award, CSIR (2001), Prof. BK Bachhawat Memorial Lecture Award, National Academy of Sciences, India (2008), National Women Bio-scientist Award, Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India (2012), Fellow of The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad (2015) and Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2016).